Posted by: sugarae97 | November 27, 2011

AOW – Destructive Myths to Live By

Four Destructive Myths Most Companies Still Live By

Myth #1: I partially agree to this. It’s definitely true that you can’t focus on what you are reading and listening to at the same time. Sometimes I can’t even think and read at the same time. Then I end up having to read a whole paragraph or whatever part I missed again. I think that it is true that it takes longer to complete a task if you switch between tasks. I find, however, that I work better with a distraction. It’s hard for me to focus on one thing for a long time. People always get annoyed with me if I’m playing a game on my phone or playing with a toy in my hand while there are talking to me, but I actually pick up more of what they are saying than if I wasn’t doing anything.

Myth #2: I believe this “myth” is actually true. Anxiety is very uncomfortable and hard to work through, but if you are just a little bit anxious you work better. It’s easier to work quickly and efficiently. Although, if you are too anxious, it can be hard to focus and you get stressed out. I do agree that it limits your creative abilities, but if you’re doing something like math, that’s okay.

Myth #3: I mostly agree with this one. Creativity is something that is inherited to a certain extent. However, you can’t really “teach” it. It’s more of a skill. You can’t just learn how to be creative, but you can practice creativity exercises to increase your level of skill.

Myth #4: I totally agree with this one. Longer hours is just more stressful. A lot of times, when you have too much to do, you’re so focused on that that you can’t do anything because you get overwhelmed. That’s why it’s important to work on projects and assignments stimulously so you aren’t rushing to do everything the day before.

I thought this article made some pretty solid statements, but it didn’t have a lot of research to back up the claims.

Leave a Reply

Categories

